Seeing Through the Eyes of a Four-Year-Old

17 Dec

Every day I am amazed by the little things that we can learn from our children if we choose to.  I say “choose” because we can “choose” to not see the simple truths that they have to share with us, or we can “choose” to relearn what as adults we have pushed aside in the name of “maturity.”

One example that comes to mind happened when my son was four.  Like many children my son was inclined to get sick on a Saturday (this time it was an eye infection) when the doctor’s office isn’t open.  As my husband and I sat in the waiting room of Urgent Care my son noticed that the one other person in the room was watching TV.  My son promptly went over and sat next to him and began asking the man if he could watch cartoons.  The man graciously changed the channel much to the joy of my son.  Now my son was convinced that he had a new friend and he began talking to the man nonstop in typical four-year-old fashion.  I was about to call him back to me so I could save the poor man from the attack of the four-year-old when my son got up and walked over to the drinking fountain to get a drink.  You know how well a four-year-old gets a drink from a fountain.  Most of the water ended up on his shirt and face.  Seemingly unaffected by this, he promptly went back to his seat next to his new found friend.  What came out of his mouth next will be forever etched in my mind, for he turned to his friend and in the sweetest little voice said, “May I wipe my face on your shirt?”

Several things happened at this point at the same time.  His dad and I looked up in shock, and the desk clerk started to laugh. Meanwhile the man looked at him slightly surprised, smiled, gave a small suckle and said, “Sure.”  As a parent there really isn’t much we could do at this point.  It was already said and well, to be honest, he said it very nicely.  But as you can guess we were slightly horrified.  As parents, all we can think of is, “Did my child really just say that?”

So what in the world is the lesson here?  Now we must step back a second and think of this from a four-year-old mind set.  Fact one, this man has been nice to me and I like him.  Two, Mom and Dad have not stepped in and said I cannot talk to this man.
Three, I have decided that he will be my friend.  Four, Mom and Dad tell me all the time that friends help each other. Five, I have water on my face.  Six, this is a problem and my new friend looks like he can help me with my problem.  Seven, I should ask nicely.
Eight, problem solved, so why are Mom and Dad looking at me that way?  This is all very simple if you look at life through his eyes.

Hmmm!  How much simpler life would be if we could think like a four-year-old?  We could meet someone and not judge them by their age, color or background.  We would want to make friends with people just because, not because we wanted to get ahead or benefit from the friendship somehow.  We wouldn’t be too proud to ask our friends for help when we really needed it.  Finally, if we did ask for help, we would do it with a grateful heart and with kind words.

No, this won’t solve all the problems in life, in fact it doesn’t even come close.  But then again, I bet that if you watch and listen, you can learn more profound truths from the little ones around you that we all need to relearn sometimes.

2 Responses to “Seeing Through the Eyes of a Four-Year-Old”

  1. Christy December 18, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    Wow, I am kinda shocked at the kindness that this man showed your son. Most people would have said, “No” and got up and walked away. Glad some people understand that grace is important.

    • kristigrimm December 18, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Your right! I guess I hadn’t thought of that before, but it is so true. Thank goodness he was gracious.

Leave a Reply

