More Than a Box

1 Dec

How often do we hear people talk about, or have witnessed ourselves, the love that children have for boxes.  More times than not, a two-year- old will be more interested in the box that the present it came in, than the present itself.  We spend somuch time trying to find the perfect gift but we should have just given them a
box.

Then Christmas after Christmas and birthday after birthday we work very hard to
train our children to ignore the box and play with the gift that we or someone else spent good money or time on, for the special occasion.  Adults can be so silly at times.  Why do we do this?  Yes, I agree that we need to teach our children to be grateful for the thoughtfulness of others when it comes to gifts, but at the same time, we must be careful not to erase their love for the box.

Why would I say this?  I say this because the box is so much more than a box.  The amazing mind of a child has already transformed that box into a boat, a car or a cradle
for their doll.  It might be a hat or a new kind of shoe.  There is no telling what that box can or will become.  It doesn’t have to make sense in fact it is more fun if it doesn’t.  We want our children to grow up to be creative, but yet we try to teach them to throw away their boxes.

My son reminded me of this simple truth last Christmas.  I was cleaning up when I saw my son taking all the boxes that I had just put in the recycle bin and he was putting them in his room.  I am not proud to say this, but I wasn’t happy and I asked, in a not so nice a tone, what in the world he was doing?  He then told me that he needed
these boxes to make something.  Still slightly annoyed, I consented, with the stipulation that he could use the boxes as long as he cleaned up any mess he made.
Well two hours later, my husband and I were ushered into his room to see
the finished product.  Masterpiece, no, but that wasn’t the point was it?  Sitting in front of us was a car.  It was complete with window, hood, roof and bumper and he had made it all by himself.  In the hubbub of presents and guests I had tried to throw away my son’s boxes.  Shame on me!  What was I thinking?  I was so proud of him.

We sit in wonder at how engineers, architects, and scientists think of new inventions and discoveries to better our lives and our world.  This is just a thought but I’m thinking that someone let them play with their boxes!

8 Responses to “More Than a Box”

  1. Cheryl Carpinello December 5, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Boy, did this ever hit home! Nothing more fun than to let go and see kids’ creative process. Thanks for sharing on the Kid Lit Blog Hop. Cheryl C. co-host

    • kristigrimm December 5, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

      Thank you for allowing me to share. I am glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Jo Linsdell December 10, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    My kids both love boxes and making stuff in general. It’s amazing what they create with the most simple of items.

    • kristigrimm December 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Totally agree!

  3. Jaymie Shook December 11, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Great eye-opener! Last Christmas, my brother actually got his only nephew a great gift: all the left-over boxes from his move. He duct taped them all together to form an L shaped tunnel, which Max adored. And really, I think my engineer brother loved making it just as much as he did back when he was 8 and working on forts in our living room.

    Keeping that creativity as your focus can only be good for your child 🙂 Thanks for reminding us of that in the Kid Lit Blog Hop, Kristi!

    • kristigrimm December 12, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Thanks for sharing! That is such a cool thing that your brother did. I think I know why he is an engineer!:)

  4. Phil Servary December 14, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Wonderful creativity! This is the type of project that is unfortunately being taken out of our schools in an effort to increase test scores. All we can do is appreciate it that much more at home!

    • kristigrimm December 15, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      I totally agree! People seem to forget how much creativlty helps you learn. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

