What is so Special About Fishing?

9 Nov

The art of fishing is something that I still have a lot to learn about.  When I was growing up I never went fishing.  I have always loved the outdoors, but fishing was not my parent’s idea of a good time.  This was most likely because my dad grew up on a small farm, and fishing was just another way of getting food, not a recreational activity.  My husband on the other hand, loves to go fishing.  So in our ten years of marriage I have gone on many fishing trips.

I love going for many reasons, but one reason may or may not surprise you.  What I enjoy more than anything else is watching my son and husband fish together.
My son has ADHD and is normally in a constant state of movement.  It has always been a task to get him to sit still for anything.  That is until you take him to the lake and give him a fishing pole, and put him next to dad.  They will sit for hours talking, laughing and catching nothing most of the time.

What is so special about fishing that causes this to happen?  Is it the beautiful lake?  Is it the undivided attention of a father and son?  Is it the soft breeze that blows across the lake?  Is it the stories that daddy tells about his adventures of fishing as a boy?  Is it the fun of putting a slimy worm on the end of a hook?  Maybe it is just all of
the above.

In a world where we have video games, satellites, cell phones, computers and movies at the touch of a button my son chooses to go fishing!  Isn’t that awesome!?  I think so. We work so hard to give our children everything, and sometimes all they
need is just a quiet afternoon soaking up God’s creation with someone they love.  It doesn’t take a lot of money it just takes your time.

 

 

4 Responses to “What is so Special About Fishing?”

  1. Renee C. November 13, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    I can totally relate to what you are saying about fishing. I grew up in a household where fishing was simply a part of our lifestyle. In the last couple of years I have taken it up again as a passtime after having not fished for 20 years! But what is so great was seeing my daughter gazing out across the lake, sitting peacefully in the boat, just soaking it in. Really catching a fish is such a small part of the joy of fishing. It’s just the icing on the cake.
    Thanks for linking into the Kid Lit Blog Hop. It’s nice to have you and I hope you’ll join us again. Cheers! 🙂

    • kristigrimm November 22, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      Thank you so much for sharing your experiece with your daughter. How fun! I plan on linking in to Kit Lit Blog Hop again soon. I need to catch up on a few things so I can right a new blog. I really need more hours in a day!:)

  2. Steve Dalton November 24, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    As you may recall we didn’t fish or hunt or camp growing up, your uncle Ken isn’t much for any of those endeavors. What has been fun though is learning those outdoorsy things as adults and enjoying in some cases for the first time right along with our kids.

    • kristigrimm November 26, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      I agree! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

