My Husband the Artist

20 Sep

Mommy, Tell Me a Story about What Daddy Does

While contemplating what I should write for my blog this week, I received the news that my first two books were reviewed by Snacks for Max. One of the comments made was about how this book series was really a family affair… my son was and is my inspiration and featured in the books, my husband is the illustrator, and I do the writing. This simple statement reminded me of how very thankful I am for my family. As a mother, I can always go on and on about my son, but instead I want you to take a little peek at my husband Dave.

My husband and I have been married for ten incredible years. These years haven’t been perfect, but they have been wonderful! So often when asked about our relationship I will say, “He isn’t perfect, but he is perfect for me.” I never had a “real boyfriend” before I started dating my husband at the age of twenty-eight. Because of this, I did a lot of observing beforehand. I knew that I couldn’t just marry someone
because I was “attracted to them,”(by the way, I am very attracted to my
husband) but they had to be my best friend first and foremost. The byproduct of
this is: spending time together now as a “working” team is so enjoyable.

Dave has always been a very gifted artist. He won many awards in high school for various drawing projects. His parents were convinced that he would be a commercial artist someday. As many can attest to, things don’t usually go the way you think they
will. Then again, this is not always a bad thing. This may help us grow in ways
that we would never have thought possible. Just today we were invited to be a
part of a literacy event at a local school. After we had read the book in
several classes we were treated to a lunch with some of the older students at
the school. It was so fun listening to my husband talk about his art and
drawings, and the journey that has brought him to this point in his life.  I kid
you not, every child we met today just loved his artwork in the books. I beamed
with pride as I listen to them say, “Wow! You drew that? That is so cool!”

It just goes to show you that you, “Can’t judge a book by it’s cover!” Who would have thought that a Commercial Sanitation Driver of 25 years would be the gifted illustrator of
three books? Most people, to put it mildly, are very surprised. What a great
story to share. How often do we give up on something just because things don’t
go the way we want, or someone says we can’t, or it seems to hard?  We are not
defined by our circumstances, our occupations, how much money we make, or what
we look like. We are just so much more than that!

My mom used to lecture me about what really mattered when looking for a future spouse. She would say, “It doesn’t matter what he looks like, how much money he makes, or what his title is. What matters is the person inside. In fact, you could even marry a garbage man and I‘d be fine with it!”  SO I DID!

2 Responses to “My Husband the Artist”

  1. Doris Carlson October 1, 2012 at 4:29 am #

    Love this blog!! Love you guys!

  2. kristigrimm October 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    So glad you liked it. You know I love bragging on my hubby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

